Home      banniere de jardihaie    Contact    facebook     French

The peppers

There are many different varieties of peppers. Contrary to popular belief they are not all strong, sweet peppers are only 0 on the Scoville scale. This scale, ranging from 0 10, is used to measure the strength of peppers.

Almost 100 varities, all grown locally at Crevant, are exhibited at The International Potato Festival.

Click here to discover some varieties of peppers !

The pepper was eaten in Mexico around 7000 years before our era. It was one of the first plants cultivated by man on the American continent. It was Christopher Colombus who described them in a report to Spain as a very hot pepper eaten by the natives.

We identify two categories of peppers :
Capsicum annum, or large pepper, originally from Brazil.
Capsicum frutescens, or small pepper, more hot and spicy than the large pepper.

Peppers are widely used in International cooking : Indian curries, Hungarian goulash (the pepper used is called paprika), chilli con carne and tortillas from Mexico, pickles and chutneys in the United Kingdom, couscous with hot chilli sauce in North Africa, Spanish spicy sausage etc...

Peppers are very rich in vitamines C, B1 et B2. The basic piquants essentially come from Capsaicin extracts, a yellowish oil with a very hot flavour. The principal pigment of peppers is carotene, the same as the tomato and carrot.

Espelette The Espelette pepper Espelette

Originally from South America, the Espelette pepper, Ezpeletako Biperra, A.O.C. since 1999 (controlled designation of origin ) is grown in 10 villages in the Basque region.
Sown under cover in February, and planted outside in May, the peppers are harvested from August until the first frosts. After being strung up to dry naturally in a warm airy place, the red peppers are ground to obtain a fine powder. This is used in much of the Basque cooking: chicken (poulet basquaise), minced beef or veal (axoa), baby squid (chipirons), etc...

pepper pepper pepper pepper pepper pepper pepper
Back to the top

Accueil      banniere de jardihaie    Contact    facebook     English

Les piments

On distingue de très nombreuses variétés de piments. Contrairement à l'idée reçue, tous ne sont pas forts, d'ailleurs les poivrons ne sont que des piments de niveau 0 sur l'échelle de Scoville. Cette échelle de 0 à 10 sert à mesurer la "force" d'un piment.

Près de 100 variétés, toutes cultivées à Crevant ont été exposées lors du Festival International de la Pomme de terre.

Cliquez ici pour découvrir ces variétés !

Le piment était consommé au Mexique environ 7000 ans avant notre ère, c'est donc l'une des premières plantes cultivées par les hommes sur le continent américain. C'est Christophe Colomb qui le découvre et le rapporte en Espagne, il le décrit comme un poivre très piquant consommé par les indigènes.

On distingue 2 catégories de piments :
Capsicum annum ou gros piment, originaire du Brésil.
Capsicum frutescens ou petit piment, plus épicé que les gros piments.

Les piments sont utilisés en cuisine dans toutes sortes de préparations comme les currys en Inde, le goulasch en Hongrie ( le piment y est appelé paprika), les tortillas et le chilli con carne au Mexique, les pickles et chutneys dans les pays anglo-saxons, le couscous en Afrique du Nord avec la harissa, les chorizos en Espagne.etc...

Les piments sont très riches en vitamine C, B1 et B2. Les principes piquants proviennent essentiellement de la capsaicine, huile jaunâtre à saveur brûlante. Le pigment principal des piments est la carotène comme pour la tomate et la carotte.

Espelette Le piment d'Espelette Espelette

Originaire d'Amérique du Sud, le piment d'Espelette, Ezpeletako Biperra, A.O.C. depuis 1999 est cultivé dans 10 villages du Pays Basque.
Semés en février sous abri et plantés en plein champ en mai, les piments sont récoltés de août jusqu'aux premières gelées. Après un séchage naturel en cordes dans un endroit chaud et aéré, les piments rouges seront passés au four et broyés afin d'obtenir une poudre fine. qui rentre dans la composition de la plupart des plats basques comme le poulet basquaise, l'axoa, les chipirons, etc...

piment piment piment piment piment piment piment
Revenir en haut