Home      banniere de jardihaie    Contact    facebook     French
origin of hedges usefulness of the hedge the hedge under threat planting of a hedge the green screen hedge the decorative hedge the low hedge the hedgerow

The hedgerow

Click here to see my suggestion (with photos) for a hedgerow...

Low hedgerows are essentially comprised of hazel, hawthorn, sloes and spindle trees.
See decorative hedgerows. These hedges can be free growing or trimmed.

High hedgerows are from 6 to 15 metres and form "wind-breaks".They are usually comprised of oaks, chestnuts, hornbeams and elms.

  • Rowan, mountain ash (Sorbus aucuparia) :This can reach a height of 15 m. It makes a dense full hedge in any soil and is suitable for any position. To propogate, sew seeds under glass in autumn. 
  • Alder (Alnus) : This tree needs a light, humid soil. Propogation is by cuttings or seeds sown in autumn. It reaches an average height of 15 m.
  • Birch (Betula) : These trees or shrubs with their silver trunks are hardy and easy to grow. They can reach a height of 25 m. Propogation is by seeds sown under glass in springtime. Be careful to stake the young plants.
  • Hornbeam (Carpinus betulus) : This tree is ideal as a windbreak because it keeps its foliage until the following spring. It can reach a height of 20 m. Propogation is by seeds or by grafting. The variety Carpinus orientalis is best for formng a hedge with arbours.
  • Sweet chestnut (Castanea sativa) : This tree has a slow growth. It dislikes a limestone or dry soil. Plant chestnuts during the spring in a sandy soil.
  • Oak (Quercus) : Three large species grow in France, the common oak ( quercus pedunculata)  the sessile oak (quercus petraea) and the downy oak (quercus pubescens). Chose a variety to suit your soil type. Plant some acorns in autumn and leave them in place. 
  • Maple (Acer campestre and palmatum) : These trees have a very decorative bark, foliage and shape. They like a a well-drained, but moist and cool soil. Propogate by seeds sown in autumn or by grafting in spring.
  • Ash (Fraxinus) : This fast growing tree tolerates all soils and is propogated from seed. Fraxinus ornus (manna ash) doesn't grow larger than 8 m and is ideal for a smaller garden.
  • Beech (Fagus sylvatica) : This tree is suitable for all free growing hedgerows. It can also be trimmed.
  • Cob-nut (Corylus avellana) : This is a shrub suitable for the hedgerow, it bears long yellow catkins, they are followed by the nuts which mature in September and October. Do not prune at planting. Prefers a humus-rich, but well-drained soil.
  • Walnut (Juglans regia) : This tree is unisexual but edible nuts are only produced after about 15 years. It is propogated by seeds or by grafting. 
  • European pear (Pyrus communis) : It grows everywhere in France and even the old wood is capable of giving young shoots. It is propogated by grafting.
  • Pommier (Malus communis) : With its white flowers it competes with the beauty of flowering trees. It needs to be pruned to obtain larger fruits. Plant different varieties of the species. It is propogated by grafting.
  • Plum (Prunus domestica) : This very hardy tree is cultivated everywhere without difficulty. There are self-fertile and non self-fertile varieties. For the mirabelle and the reine-claude, growing from seed is possible, otherwse from grafting.
  • Robinia (Robinia) :The robinia or false acacia can perhaps be used in small gardens because of its dense foliage on the grafted varities. Attention, this tree produces numerous thorny suckers... Its wood is ideal for fencing. To propogate, remove some suckers from around the trunk and plant under glass in autumn, plant rooted suckers in place in spring.
  • Snowberry (Symphoricarpos orbiculatus 'Whyte Edge') : This hardy shrub is also called the Indian currant. It is suitable for hedgerows. Its white berries borne in autumn are not edible. It has a tendancy to produce suckers.
  • Lime (Tilia) : This beautiful tree has a dense foliage and small delicately fragrant flowers. It can reach a height of 40 m.To propogate remove some shoots from around the trunk and plant them under glass in autumn, plant into place during the spring.
Back to the top

Accueil      banniere de jardihaie    Contact    facebook     English
origine des haies utilité de la haie la haie en danger plantation de la haie la haie brise vue la haie fleurie la haie basse la haie champêtre

La haie champêtre

Cliquez ici pour voir ma suggestion d'arbres et d'arbustes (avec photos) pour une haie champêtre...

Les haies champêtres basses sont composées essentiellement de noisetiers, d'aubépines, de prunelliers, de fusains.
Voir les haies champêtres décoratives. Ces haies peuvent être soit libres, soit taillées.

Les haies bocagères hautes "brise-vent" de 6 à 15 mètres sont à base de chênes, de châtaigniers, de charmes et d'ormes.

  • Aubépine (Crataegus laevigata) : Arbrisseau qui porte des épines le long de ses rameaux, idéal pour une haie défensive, rustique et peu exigeante.
  • Alisier (Sorbus aucuparia) : Le sorbier des oiseleurs peut atteindre 15 m de haut. Il peut constituer une haie dense et touffue dans toute terre et n'importe quelle exposition. Pour le multiplier, planter des graines sous châssis en automne.
  • Aulne (Alnus) : Cet arbre a besoin de lumière et d'humidité. La multiplication se fait par boutures par semis en automne. Il atteint 15 m de hauteur en moyenne.
  • Bouleau (Betula) : Ces arbres ou arbrisseaux aux troncs argentés sont rustiques et faciles à vivre. Ils peuvent atteindre 25 m de haut. La multiplication s'effectue par semis de graines au printemps sous châssis. Attention à bien tuteurer les jeunes plants.
  • Charme (Carpinus betulus) : Cet arbre est idéal en coupe-vent car il garde ses feuilles longtemps en hiver. Il peut atteindre 20 m de haut et se multiplie par semis ou greffage. La variété Carpinus orientalis est la meilleure pour former des haies de charmilles.
  • Châtaignier (Castanea sativa) : Cet arbre à lent développement redoute les terrains secs et calcaires. Planter des châtaignes dans un sol sableux au printemps.
  • Chêne (Quercus) : Trois grandes espèces poussent en France, le chêne pédonculé, le chêne rouvre et le chêne pubescent. Choisir une variété favorable à votre sol. Planter quelques glands en automne et laisser lui de la place.
  • Erable champêtre (Acer campestre et palmatum) : Ces arbres sont très décoratifs par leurs écorces, leurs formes et leurs feuillages. Ils aiment un sol frais et bien drainé et se reproduisent par graines semées en automne ou par greffe au printemps.
  • Frêne (Fraxinus) : Cet arbre à croissance rapide pousse dans toutes les terres et se reproduit par semis. Fraxinus ornus (frêne à fleurs) ne dépasse pas 8 m et est idéal dans un petit jardin.
  • Hêtre (Fagus sylvatica) : Cet arbre convient pour les haies libres champêtres. Il peut également être taillé.
  • Noisetier (Corylus avellana) : cet arbuste de base dans les haies champêtres porte des longs chatons. Ne pas le tailler à la plantation. Préfère les terres humifères mais pas humides.
  • Noyer (Juglans regia) : Cet arbre est auto fertile mais il faut une dizaine d'année avant d'obtenir des fruits. Il se multiplie par greffage ou semis.
  • Poirier (Pyrus communis) : Il pousse partout en France et même le vieux bois est apte à redonner des jeunes pousses. Il se multiplie par greffage.
  • Pommier (Malus communis) : Avec ses fleurs blanches, il rivalise de beauté avec les pommiers à fleurs. Il demande à être taillé pour obtenir de gros fruits. Planter des variétés en mélange. Il se multiplie par greffage.
  • Prunier (Prunus domestica) : cet arbre très rustique se cultive partout sans difficulté. Il y a des variétés auto stériles et auto fertiles. Pour la mirabelle et la reine-claude, le semis est possible, autrement greffage.
  • Robinier (Robinia) : Le robinier ou faux-acacia peut être utilisé dans les petits jardins en raison de son feuillage touffu pour les variétés greffées. Mais attention car il drageonne... Son bois est idéal pour la confection des clôtures. Prélevez quelques pousses autour du tronc et plantez les sous châssis en automne pour les mettre en place au printemps.
  • Symphorine (Symphoricarpos orbiculatus 'Whyte Edge') : Cet arbuste rustique appelé aussi le groseillier des Indiens convient pour les haies champêtres. Ses fruits blancs à l'automne ne sont pas comestibles. Il a tendance à drageonner.
  • Tilleul (Tilia) : Ce bel arbre au feuillage dense a des petites fleurs délicatement parfumées. Il peut atteindre 40 m de haut. Prélevez quelques pousses autour du tronc et plantez les sous châssis en automne pour les mettre en place au printemps.
Revenir en haut