Home      banniere de jardihaie    Contact    facebook     French
origin of hedges usefulness of the hedge the hedge under threat planting of a hedge the green screen hedge the decorative hedge the low hedge the hedgerow

The green screen hedge

Click here to see my suggestion (with photos) for a green screen hedge ...

For privacy, and to hide an unpleasant sight, you need to plant a hedge that is impenetrable to prying eyes in all seasons.

Here is a list of evergreen shrubs suitable for hedges. It is necessary to pay attention to the contrast in foliage. It is equally essential to plant some deciduous decorative shrubs staggered in the interior of the hedge to aid its biological balance :

  • Abelia (Abelia x grandiflora) : A semi-evergreen, plant with other species for an average sized hedge of 1,50 m. Good decorative quality, abundant pink and white fragrant tubular flowers are borne from July to November. Plant in the sun and sheltered from cold winds .
  • Arbutus (Arbutus unedo) : Also called The Strawberry Tree for its fruits at the end of the year, very decorative with its red bark. It prefers an acidic soil and sun. It doesn't like excessive moisture. Ideal as a green screen provided that you leave it space.
  • Aucuba (Aucuba japonica) : This shrub is dioecious (unisexual), and plants of both sexes need to be planted to produce berries. It has green, or green and yellow variegated leaves. It grows slowly in an acidic, but well-drained soil for preference. It doesn't like excessive moisture or direct sun. This shrub of Japanese origin likes partial shade.
  • Berberis (Berberis darwinii x stenophylla) : This is a spiny shrub, careful of the thorns if you have children. Ideal as a defensive hedge this hardy shrub tolerates both shade and sun.
  • Boxwood (Buxus sempervirens) : This shrub is widely grown for an evergreen hedge. The varities 'Rotundifolia' and 'Angustifolia' reach a height of 2 m in 8 years.
  • Ceanothus (Ceanothus impressus and thysiflorus) : This shrub with blue flowers enjoys a mild climate and a light, rich soil. Take care to choose a hardy variety. It is necessary to prune old wood.
  • Cotoneaster (Cotoneaster franchetii and Cotoneaster lactea) : Best used in a free growing hedge of 1,50 m to 2 m for cotoneaster lacteus . Cotoneaster franchetii can be trimmed in a line . Cutting into shape is necessary during the first 2 years.
  • Elaeagnus (Elaeagnus x ebbingei) : This is a fast growing shrub and forms an impenetrable hedge, it extends horizontally and then tumbles down. This shrub with a captivating fragrance prefers a light and acidic soil for a rapid and sustained growth.
  • Escallonia (Escallonia macrantha and punctata) : This shrub is sensitive to frost (-15°) it is only appropriate for temporary green screens because it is semi-evergreen. Flowers from May to September in ordinary garden soil.
  • Spindle Tree (Euonymus japonicus) : This shrub with its pretty leaves is sensitive to the cold. It is susceptible to diseases and parasites (powdery mildew and aphids). Best planted with other species.
  • Holly (Ilex aquifolium and Ilex x meservae) : This shrub is extensively used for hedging. If it is planted in good conditions it grows 50 cm per year. Hardy it prefers a rich soil.
  • Yew (Taxus baccata) : Use in a trimmed hedge, also suitable for topiary work. This tree grows slowly in a humus-rich soil and adaptes to all situations except if too wet.
  • Portuguese Laurel (Prunus lusitanica) : Not to be confused with bay laurel ! For use in a free growing hedge of 2 m, plant in a sunny position. It can tolerate temperatures of - 20°.
  • Laurustinus (Viburnum tinus) : Magnificent in a free growing or trimmed hedge, it rapidly forms a compact visual scren on condition it is left space ! It is sensitive to cold winds.
  • Mexican Orange (Choisya ternata) : Ideal for an average sized hedge of 1,50 m. This magnificent shrub with its delicate fragrance prefers a well-drained soil, it needs to be sheltered from cold winds (-20°). Protect from frost damage in winter. It will tolerate a chalky soil.
  • Osmanthus (Osmanthus burkwoodii and Osmanthus heterophyllus) : This is a rapidly growing shrub with pretty foliage. Suitable for an average sized hedge, 1,50 m to 2 m. Plant in a light and well-drained garden soil in the sun or partial shade.
  • Photinia 'Red Robin' (Photinia x fraseri 'Red Robin') : This shub has an attractive red foliage, trim back in the spring to encourage it to branch. Use as a touch of colour in an evergreen hedge.
  • Pyracantha (Pyracantha hybrides) : The firethorn ! This shrub grows rapidly, it can be trained along a wall or as a defensive hedge. It thrives in a sunny position in a well-drained fertile soil. Susceptible to aphides and fireblight.
  • Skimmia (Skimmia japonica) : Considered wrongly as a heathland shrub it prefers a well-drained soil. Plant in a free growing hedge with other species.
  • Privet (Ligustrum vulgare, ovalifolium, lucidum, japonicum and sinense) : Ideal for hedgerows it tolerates all soil types and positions. Severe cutting back is necessary on new growth each successive year to promote a good strong bushy base.
Back to the top

Accueil      banniere de jardihaie    Contact    facebook     English
origine des haies utilité de la haie la haie en danger plantation de la haie la haie brise vue la haie fleurie la haie basse la haie champêtre

La haie persistante

Cliquez ici pour voir ma suggestion d'arbustes (avec photos) pour une haie persistante...

Pour se protéger des voisins, pour masquer une vue désagréable, vous souhaitez planter une haie impénétrable en toute saison aux regards indiscrets.

Voici une liste d'arbustes persistants adaptés aux haies. Toutefois, il faudra faire attention aux contrastes trop forts dans les associations de feuillages. Il est indispensable également de planter quelques arbustes caducs décoratifs en quinconce à l'intérieur de la haie pour son équilibre biologique

  • Abélia (Abelia x grandiflora) : A associer avec d'autres espèces (car son feuillage est semi-persistant) pour une haie moyenne (1,50 m). Grande qualité décorative, floraison parfumée en clochettes roses de juillet à Novembre. Au soleil à abriter des vents froids !
  • Arbousier (Arbutus unedo) : Appelé aussi l'arbre aux fraises pour ses fruits en fin d'année, très décoratif avec son écorce rouge, il préfère nettement les sols acides et le soleil. Il craint l'humidité excessive. Idéal en écran vert à condition de lui laisser de la place.
  • Aucuba (Aucuba japonica) : Cet arbuste dioïque au feuillage vert ou jaune panaché pousse lentement en sol acide de préférence mais bien drainé. Il craint l'humidité excessive et le soleil direct. Cet arbuste d'origine japonaise aime la mi-ombre.
  • Berberis (Berberis darwinii,et stenophylla) : L'épine-vinette : attention aux épines si vous avez des enfants. Idéal en haie défensive, cet arbuste rustique supportera aussi bien l'ombre que le soleil.
  • Buis (Buxus sempervirens) : Arbuste de base pour la haie persistante. Les variétés 'Rotundifolia' et 'Angustifolia' atteignent 2 m de haut en 8 ans.
  • Céanothe (Ceanothus impressus et thysiflorus) : Cet arbuste à la floraison bleue ne se plaira qu'en climat doux dans une terre riche et légère. Attention à choisir une variété rustique. Taille indispensable pour éliminer les vieux bois.
  • Cotonéaster (Cotoneaster franchetii et Cotoneaster lactea) : A utiliser de préférence en haie libre de 1,50 m à 2 m pour cotoneaster lacteus. Cotoneaster franchetii peut être taillé au cordeau. Taille de formation indispensable pendant les 2 premières années.
  • Eléagnus (Eleagnus x ebbingei) : Arbuste de base pour la haie impénétrable, il s'étend en largeur puis devient retombant. Cet arbuste au parfum captivant préfèrera les terres légères et acides pour une croissance rapide et soutenue.
  • Escallonia (Escallonia macrantha et punctata) : Cet arbuste est sensible au gel (-15°) et ne conviendra que pour les écrans verts temporaires car il est semi-persistant. Floraison de mai à septembre au soleil en terre ordinaire.
  • Fusain du Japon (Euonymus japonicus) : Cet arbuste au joli feuillage est sensible au froid et aux maladies et parasites (o´dium et cochenilles). A associer avec d'autres espèces.
  • Houx (Ilex aquifolium et Ilex x meservae) : Arbuste de base pour les écrans végétaux. S'il est planté dans de bonnes conditions, il se développera de 50 cm par an. Rustique, il préfèrera les sols profonds et humifères même à l'ombre.
  • If (Taxus baccata) : A utiliser en haie taillée. Cet arbre pousse lentement et s'adapte à tous les sols humifères sauf trop humides et à toutes les expositions.
  • Laurier du Portugal (Prunus lusitanica) : A ne pas confondre avec les lauriers palmes ! A utiliser en haie libre de 2 m au soleil, il supportera jusqu'à - 20░.
  • Laurier-tin (Viburnum tinus) : Superbe en haie libre comme en haie taillée, il réalisera rapidement un écran visuel compact à condition de lui laisser de la place ! Il est sensible aux vents froids.
  • Oranger du Mexique (Choisya ternata) : Idéal pour les haies moyennes (1, 50 m), cet arbuste magnifique au parfum délicat préfèrera une terre humifère et craint les vents froids (-20°).Protéger la souche en hiver. Il supporte le calcaire.
  • Osmanthe (Osmanthus burkwoodii et Osmanthus heterophyllus) : Arbustes de croissance rapide, leur jolis feuillages conviennent pour les haies moyennes (1,50 m à 2 m).Terre légère et humifère au soleil ou à mi-ombre.
  • Photinia 'Red Robin' (Photinia x fraseri 'Red Robin') : Cet arbuste au feuillage rouge nécessitera plusieurs recépages pour s'élargir et se ramifier. A utiliser pour donner quelques touches de couleur dans la haie persistante.
  • Pyracantha (Pyracantha hybrides) : Le buisson ardent a des épines ! Arbuste à croissance rapide, il peut être palissé le long d'un mur ou dans une haie défensive champêtre. Soleil obligatoire et terre humifère. Craint les cochenilles et le feu bactérien.
  • Skimmia (Skimmia japonica) : Considéré à tord comme un arbuste de terre de bruyère, il apprécie surtout les sols humifères. A associer en haie libre avec d'autres espèces.
  • Troène (Ligustrum vulgare, ovalifolium, lucidum, japonicum et sinense) : Idéal pour les haies libres champêtres, ils tolèrent tous les types de sol et toutes les expositions. Le recépage sévère est indispensable pour qu'ils ne soient pas trop dégarnis à la base.
Revenir en haut