Home      banniere de jardihaie    Contact    facebook     French

Crop rotation

Practice crop rotation in the vegetable garden because it seems to be the most natural way to get good healthy crops. For small areas 4 beds are a good compromise, for those who have more space a special bed for potatoes and green manure may be added to clean and rest the soil.

The 1st year : Green manure

crop rotation At the start there is nothing, if you have a heavy soil it must be turned in autumn, a light soil must be turned during the spring. For the first year I recommend planting potatoes on all the vegetable plot, this will "cleanse" the land. At the end of the season sow mustard on all the vegetable plot as a green manure.

2nd year : The seed vegetables (bed n°1)

crop rotation This is the bed of the legumes, the fabaceas and the chenopodiaceaes. These vegetables have the ability to cleanse the soil. The peas and broad beans occupy the soil very early in the spring. Much later in summer it will be the bed for the French beans. At the end of the season winter spinach should be grown as a green manure. All these vegetables have the ability to fix nitrogen in the soil.

3rd year : The leaf vegetables (bed n°2)

crop rotation Since nitrogen in quantity is present in the soil, the "leaf" vegetables should be planted. This is the bed of the brassicas and the compositaes, such as lettuce, chicory, globe artichokes and potatoes, (if they are not in their own special bed). If you have only made 4 beds, then although the potato is a solanaceae like the tomato, place it in this bed. It associates very well with the cabbage and very badly with the tomato. In springtime, to use the land I re-sow very early with spinach, I cover it with horticultural fleece to help it grow. In summer the cabbage starts its development along with the lettuce until the end of autumn. Into winter for Brussel sprouts and chicory. Eventually cucumbers, celery and turnips can be planted here. In the autumn another crucifer, the mustard can occupy the available space, It is possible to sow this until October..

4th year : The root vegetables (bed n°3)

crop rotation The cultivation of cabbage is particularly exhausting, this falls well, the lilaceaes and the umbelliferaes will draw the elements essential for their development deeply from the soil. Early in the season carrots, onions, radishes and shallots occupy the land. Later, leeks, beets, endives and fennel can join them. At the end of the season lambs lettuce can occupy the spaces left empty.

5th year : The potatoes (bed n°4)

rotation des culturesThis then is the bed which will give more if you can make a 5 year rotation. The potato is a plant which "cleanses" the soil. It can be associated with ricin, amarante and tetragonia. At the end of summer plant white clover to cleanse the earth. If you have only a little space then make a 4 year rotation, pass directly to the following bed...

6th year : The fruiting vegetables (bed n°5)

crop rotation Now the land is clean we must feed it, in spring compost is spread over this bed which will be planted with the solanaceae family (excluding potatoes) and gourds. This is the area of the tomatoes, squash and corn. At the end of the season, sow mustard as a green manure.

AND THE FLOWERS ?

crop rotation crop rotation crop rotation

The flowers of course have their place in this type of garden. There are already flowers to cut: dahlias, anthemis, gladioli, sunflowers... Planting tagetes (marigolds) in the border near to the beans, carrots and cabbages will help deter the insects. There are problems associated with carrots and root vegetables, in general sow the tagetes with the beans, the antirrhinums with the tomatoes. The nasturtiums attract the aphids and keep away the whitefly and ants. Sow them in the border close to the beans. The dwarf chrysanthemums, cosmos, rudbeckia, lavender, borrage, phacelia and the tanacetum can also be used in the garden.

Garlic and chives repel aphids and delay the onset of black spot on roses. Sage deters the cabbage moth from laying its eggs on the cabbage plants and camomile stimulates diseased plants. Valerian stimulates earthworms and repels rodents. Borrage is a nectar giving plant which attracts the bees who pollinate the tomatoes, marrows and strawberries.

Finally the green manure like the phacelia and the buckwheat, and the aromatics, such as fennel and dill, all find their place in the natural garden. The fundamental principles of this type of cultivation are understood. It is important to use as much of the land as possible to stop the proliferation of weeds, also the soil should not be turned too deeply.

Back to the top

Accueil     Contact     banniere de jardihaie     facebook     English

La rotation des cultures

Pratiquer la rotation des cultures au potager, c'est la façon la plus "naturelle" d'obtenir de bons et sains légumes au potager. Pour les petites surfaces, 4 planches sont un bon compromis ; pour ceux qui disposent de plus d'espace une planche spéciale pommes de terre et engrais verts sera ajoutée pour nettoyer et laisser reposer la terre.

1ère année : Les engrais verts

rotation des culturesAu début il n'y a rien... il faut donc retourner la terre à l'automne, si votre terre est lourde ou au printemps, si elle est légère. Pour la première année, je conseille une plantation de pommes de terre sur toute la surface afin de "nettoyer" le terrain. En fin de saison un semis de moutarde sur tout le potager.

2ème année : Les légumes graines (planche n°1)

rotation des cultures C'est la planche des légumineuses, des papilionacées, et des chénopodiacées. Ces légumes ont la propriété de nettoyer la terre. Des pois et des fèves occuperont le terrain très tôt au printemps. Plus tard, en été, ce sera la planche des haricots. En fin de saison les épinards d'hiver seront semés comme engrais vert. Tous ces légumes ont la particularité de fixer l'azote au sol.

3ème année : Les légumes feuilles (planche n°2)

rotation des cultures Puisque l'azote est présent en quantité dans le sol, les légumes "feuilles" vont l'utiliser. C'est la planche des crucifères, des composées, et des pommes de terre (si elles n'ont pas une planche spéciale pour elles). Si vous ne faites que 4 planches, bien que la pomme de terre soit une solanacée comme la tomate, je la place dans cette planche car elle s'associe très bien avec le chou et très mal avec la tomate. Au printemps je ressème des épinards très tôt pour occuper le terrain. je les recouvre d'un voile de forçage pour faciliter la levée. En été les choux commenceront leur développement en compagnie des laitues jusqu'à la fin de l'automne et même en hiver pour les choux de Bruxelles et les chicorées. Eventuellement concombres, céleris et navets peuvent prendre place ici. A l'automne, un autre crucifère, la moutarde, occupera les places disponibles. Il est possible de la semer jusqu'en octobre.

4ème année : Les légumes racines (planche n°3)

rotation des cultures La culture des choux est particulièrement épuisante, cela tombe bien : les liliacées et les ombellifères vont puiser au plus profond de la terre les éléments indispensables à leur développement. Tôt en saison carottes, radis, oignons, échalotes occuperont le terrain. Plus tard poireaux, betteraves, endives, fenouils pourront les rejoindre. En fin de saison la mâche occupera les parcelles laissées vides.

5ème année : La pomme de terre (planche n°4)

rotation des culturesC'est donc la planche qui vient en plus si vous pouvez faire une rotation sur 5 ans. La pomme de terre est une plante qui "nettoie" le sol. Elle pourra être associée au ricin, à l'amarante, à la tétragone. En fin d'été le trèfle blanc terminera d'assainir la terre. Si vous disposez de peu de place, faîtes une rotation sur 4 ans, vous passez donc directement à la planche suivante.

6ème année : Les légumes fruits (planche n°5)

rotation des cultures La terre étant propre il faut maintenant la nourrir : dès le printemps, le compost est étalé sur cette planche qui va accueillir les solanacées (sauf la pomme de terre) et les cucurbitacées. C'est le domaine des tomates et des courges mais aussi du maïs. En fin de saison, semez de la moutarde comme engrais vert.


ET LES FLEURS ?

rotation des cultures rotation des cultures rotation des cultures

Les fleurs ont, bien entendu, leur place dans ce type de jardin. Il y a déjà les fleurs à couper : dahlias, soleils, reine-marguerites, petits glaïeuls, tournesols... En bordure, les œillets d'inde repoussent les insectes près des haricots, des choux et des carottes. Les soucis s'associent bien avec avec les carottes et les légumes racines en général, les tagètes avec les haricots, les mufliers avec les tomates. Les capucines attirent les pucerons, éloignent les mouches blanches et les fourmis. Elles se sèment en bordure des haricots. Les chrysanthèmes nains, cosmos, rudbeckias ainsi que la lavande, la bourrache, la phacélie et la tanaisie pourront être utilisés également dans le potager.

L'ail et la ciboulette retardent l'apparition des tâches noires sur les rosiers et repoussent les pucerons. La sauge éloigne les papillons (piérides) du choux, la camomille stimule les plantes malades. La valériane stimule les vers de terre et repousse les rongeurs. La bourrache est une plante mellifère qui attire les abeilles qui féconderont les tomates, les courges, les fraisiers.

Enfin les engrais verts comme la phacélie et le sarrasin, les aromatiques comme le fenouil et l'aneth trouveront leur place dans ce jardin naturel. Vous avez compris les principes fondamentaux de ce type de culture. Il est important d'occuper le terrain le plus possible pour éviter la prolifération des adventices et de ne pas retourner profondément le sol.

Revenir en haut